New Member - Intro and Questions

Hi everyone!

I’m proud to say today was my first day using any DeFi application. I’m an avid crypto enthusiast, and just staked a small amount on the Compound application. If all goes well, depending on my understanding of the application and how it works, I’d like to be a more active member in the community and stake more on the app. I have done research, but I haven’t found any soup to nuts, simplistic answers to some of my questions/concerns. I apologize if they are “dumb” questions to any experts, but I am a novice and not only am I very interested in just being apart of this community and the space as a whole, but I’m trying to bridge the gap a bit here. So I figured there would be no better place to learn than from the forum itself. Here are a few questions:

-As a Compound user, I see that there are APRs for borrowers and stakers, do you receive comp payouts for borrowing on top of staking as well? So let’s say you stake 200 DAI and then borrow 150 DAI, do you get COMP distributions for both numbers at the rated APRs?

-I see for both situations there is a DAI APR and a COMP APR, do you get interest on the DAI as well?

-I’m unsure if I fully understand the interest utilization model provided on the Supply numbers page, if someone could just elaborate a bit. Does it have to do with the percent of let’s say DAI being lent out/borrowed at any given time and then the system appropriates an interest rate to the lenders depending on that utilization schedule?

-And lastly, when you vote on a proposal, does the compound you have/control in your wallet get staked to a “Yes or No” vote, or does it get burned/dissipate every time you vote?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Welcome to the community! I’d say for the most part, these types of questions are better suited for the discord, but I’ll try to help out a bit here. Additionally, most answers can easily be answered by reading through the resources channel on the discord.