Dividend on COMP

Hello.
I am new to compound and this forum. Forgive any ignorance on my behalf.
I was wondering if its already proposed to give some % dividend on comp token now or in the future for compholders?
Either to let them generate income or to encourage people to hold on to them.
At the current rate some people seem to dump any tokens earned really fast on the market which lead to a downward spiral in price. Especcially if there is little incentive to buy tokens.
Maybe it is in the best interest of the compound protocol to depreciate the token in value?
But if the token should bring other value besides governance a dividend would at least be beneficial to the intrinsic value of a comp token.
Some thing like staking or baking or pos mining would also be a form of dividend.
Please if possible share any thoughts on this.

Thanks Tim

3 Likes

The idea has been thrown around before, but there hasn’t been any serious talk around it. Raising the price of COMP has never been a goal of the Compound team or community: its high price has caused issues with farming and required some actions to be taken to decrease risk.

Now that governance is being distributed more though, I could see a majority wanting to make financial gains from COMP as that is what most in DeFi are looking for.

3 Likes

Hello arr00
thanks a lot for this reply. It helped explain alot.
I understand the distribution among the community needs to be done first. It could be the safer route in case of scc and such regulations. But at this moment the distribution is already for more than half done too less than 20 parties. So is it really neccesary to wait untill the rest is given to smaller parties?
Then again the benefits of a higher price seemed also to be the incentive to use the protocol by farming. It increased the compounds protocols popularity among an ever steady growing landacape of defi protocols that jump on the hype.