Proposal Security Process Discussion

Proposal Security Process Discussion

Background

My name is Michael Lewellen. I’ll be the Security Advisor for you all on behalf of @OZSecure. Now that OpenZeppelin has been selected as Compound’s Security partner, we’d like to begin with soliciting feedback from the community for the creation of a Proposal Security Process.

My short background is that I’ve been working in the blockchain industry since 2012 as a technical consultant and architect with a special focus on Ethereum and smart contract security. I joined OpenZeppelin to manage their audit projects and have done community education at Defcon and other events. I’ve also done public policy education for the Texas Blockchain Council and am personally very interested in developing and scaling DAO governance models.

Summary

Based on the Next Steps outlined in our proposal, our first goal is to define a security process that proposal authors can follow leading up to an audit and submission to the DAO for a vote. This will start with engagement in the next community call and one-on-ones with key community members to solicit feedback. After collecting feedback from everyone, we’ll then propose a detailed process that will go through refinements with the community before being finalized.

You can find below a draft process that I’ve been working on that we would utilize if a protocol audit was needed ASAP although we don’t expect it will be necessary until February. This is based on our standard way of doing audits. I expect this will go through many changes to make it work with an open DAO structure so we’d definitely be looking for feedback from everyone. A more detailed version of this process will be shared later by OpenZeppelin. This draft only serves as a placeholder and a starting point for soliciting community feedback. We expect the final version to have more detailed security checklists, touchpoints with the auditors, tooling, and other considerations.